Review: Enzyme Powder Wash

Good evening!

Welcome to my first blog post. I have been dying to create a blog with my Instagram posts because I have sooo much more to say than can (or rather should) be said in an Instagram post. And with that, let’s move on!

I am a huge believer in regular exfoliation, and the research is clear: regular exfoliation has a multitude of benefits to skin’s health. Skin is naturally shedding cells every day. Exfoliants aim to prevent the build up of dead skin cells from accumulating, and therefore preventing rough texture, blemishes, clogged pores, and uneven skin tone. There are also a variety of exfoliants from physical scrubs, chemicals, and enzymes. I regularly use all three, adding an enzyme type exfoliant only in the last few weeks. Although there is ample research demonstrating the efficacy of chemical exfoliants (a quick scan of Ebsco Host, Beautypedia Reviews, and Skin Deep are great resources for example), I haven’t found any solid evidence that enzyme peels are the most effective. So, I wish I could show you some fancy researching demonstrating how great these are as exfoliants, but you’ll have to take my review and personal testimonial instead.

438a6489

I’ve been using enzyme powder washes for a couple of months now, and it was Tatcha Polished Enzyme Rice Powder that first piqued my interest. As a new brand in Sephora it was garnishing a lot of attention, and I decided to pick up a travel sized version to try. It softened the skin considerably and foamed only gently, which I appreciated. At the end of the day however, I believe the high amount of potassium myristate (a non-toxic soap ingredients / detergent) might have been what contributed to my skin feeling quite dry over time. I don’t think it’s a good idea to use any of these enzyme washes daily for me personally. Because my skin did appear to be bright and silky afterward though, I still wanted to explore. I’ve since tried two new enzyme cleansers: Amore Pacific Treatment Enzyme Peel, and IOPE Enzyme Powder Treatment Wash. Amore Pacific can be found at Nordstrom, Neiman Marcus, and Sephora, but the IOPE is trickier to find. I purchased mine from Aritaum. You can use their store locator to find your local Aritaum or Amore Cosmetics.

They’re like any enzyme powder wash: add a small amount of powder to the palm of your hands and add water to emulsify and massage into clean skin (that is, makeup removed) for about 60 seconds before rinsing.

438a6501

Both include some fragrance, and that is worth noting for those that are sensitive to fragrance, but the IOPE fragrance is much milder than the Amore Pacific (though the Amore Pacific smells so, so good). Both of these created a similar amount of foam and are so easy to use. Might I suggest also using a Foreo Luna 2 with these? It’s gentle enough to use with these exfoliating powders and it automatically times one minute, which is about the time you want the enzyme powders in contact with your skin to “work.” Both of these left my skin silky, clean, and bright, but the IOPE definitely left my skin less dry. It’s by far the gentlest of the three enzyme powder washes I’ve tried. That is interesting too, because it also contains the most enzyme ingredients of the three.

438a6504

The containers of both of these are super easy to control (even with wet hands) to ensure you do not accidentally pour too much or add any water to the product by accident (and therefore “activating” the product). The Tatcha Polished also had excellent and luxuriously packaged enzyme wash. The Tatcha packaging is by far my favorite.

VERDICT: I use these about three times a week. After more than two months of use, alternating every two to three weeks, I can say that the IOPE Enzyme Powder Treatment Wash takes the cake for softening and brightening my skin instantly, with very little dryness and no irritation. It contains the most enzyme ingredients as well. I still would be curious to try the Indigo and Sensitive enzymes from Tatcha (especially with how clean these ingredients seem to be), but IOPE wins for me right now. If you are particularly sensitive and wanting to introduce a chemical exfoliant, try an enzyme wash! It’s not as active as an AHA or BHA exfoliant, as abrasive as a physical scrub, and just may be a good solution for exfoliation for sensitive skin.

All ingredients are found on the product website, with the exception of the IOPE, so I went ahead and took a photo for you (it drives me crazy to see skincare reviews without a list of ingredients, or at least a link where to find them)!

438a6514

That’s it from me for now! Thanks for taking the time to dive into the details with me, and feel free to leave any questions, comments, or resources for me to look over!

Goodnight.

Leave a Reply

