Natasha Denona: Star Palette Quickie.

It’s been a minute since my last post, and I haven’t posted about cosmetics yet. What better makeup item to post about than the (fairly) newly released and coveted Natasha Denona Star Palette!? I’lll admit too, it’s been a while since I’ve been excited about an eyeshadow palette. The Natasha Denona Star Palette includes 18 pans with a generous amount of color, but with a heaping price tag of $169. Is it worth it?! The short answer: yes.

The technicalities: You get 18 colors and 2.26 grams per pan (40.68 grams of product) which are talc free, paraben free, pthalate free and, and cruelty free. The finishes include 4 crystal eyeshadows, 9 creamy matte eyeshadows, 3 metallic eyeshadows, and 2 duochromes. Packaged in a leather like wrap with an embossed logo and stars. Find more details on Sephora’s website.

I would love to go into swatches and looks, but let me quite frank with you all: it’s been a rough week and a half or so (since November 8th). I’ve got not a few looks to share since picking this up during Sephora friends and family sale, but not as much as I would like. Fortunately, there are a ton of bloggers out there posting swatches. A quick google or Instagram search will get you there. I do want to note some colors that I’ve seen controversy on and get my 2c in right quick.

img_6854
Left half: l-r, top to bottom: Spectrum, Earth, Bellatrix, Flesh Orion, Gemma, Atria, Titania,Cosmo. Right half: l-r, top to bottom: Diadem, Vega, Galaxia, Phoenix, Supernova, Electra, Polaris, Atik, Rhea.

Galaxia (crystal eyeshadow): tons of fallout here. It functions like a pressed glitter, except that you can actually press color on with a brush, unlike some eyeshadow colors with a similar-ish finish that require you to dig into the pan with no reserve (looking at you Huda Beauty). I found it easy to pack color on the lid with a brush (no finger required), and the fallout was annoying but not a deal breaker.

Electra (creamy matte): I saw some swatches of this that came out patchy… Mine didn’t. It was creamy and pigmented like the rest of the creamy matte formulas. And it’s amazing and buildable. These creamy mattes are seriously some of the best matte formulas, ever!

Processed with PICSPLAY

The first look I created was created with GALAXIA and DIADEM with VEGA to blend out through the crease and under the brow. I wanted it soft and easy for a day at work. And I wanted to challenge the controversial shade Galaxia. Turns out, I adore this shade.It was easy to look bright eyed and bushy tailed without much effort. Took me less than 5 minutes to create this look! Now for your viewing pleasure, a couple more.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Evening of my birthday dinner with the family. SPECTRUM is the star of the show here all over the lid.

 

Processed with VSCO with m6 preset
More SPECTRUM with COSMO pressed on top for some boosted brightness.

I definitely want to get into the duochromes and bold colors in this palette. Keep an eye on my Instagram for more: I’m still in love with this palette two weeks after getting it (yes it’s only been two weeks). In a beauty world with launch after launch after launch, it seems we’re set up to get over new launches within days of their release as the next new things hits the shelves and subsequently our vanity. I’ll be continuing to mix this palette through the holidays, as it has a plethora of options. 18 colors is a lot to work with. I have a ton of eyeshadow and worked for a fabulous color company. It’s not easy to grab my interest in an eyeshadow palette. Natasha Denona has done it, and with a beautiful, luxurious packaging and formula. If you’re not uncomfortable with the price, grab it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

